Stella & Grayson: 12 Month Update

img_1477

We did it!  We survived the first year with twins!  It was not easy, but we did it, and not to brag, but I think we did pretty well.  We have some of the funniest babies I have ever had the pleasure of being around.  I am continually amazed at how much personality can be packed into such tiny human beings.

birthday-pictures-118

Stella is always giving me these faces of, “I think what you’re doing is funny, but I’m not going to crack a smile.”  Grayson, on the other hand, has no problem awarding silliness with a giant, cheesy grin.  Nick and I find so many things they do genuinely hilarious.  That says a lot because I try hard to make Nick laugh and the majority of the time he gives me a pity laugh (love you, babe!).  I can tell when he finds something truly funny, and the babies bring that out way more than I have ever been able to.  Stella is such a tough little girl.  When she inevitably tumbles off whatever she’s climbing on, she just lays there, arms spread, staring at the ceiling, not crying.  When this happens I laugh and cheer her on, and she claps for herself.  Grayson has the funniest shrill scream when he’s excited about something, like seeing the cat, or being tickled or chased.  Stella and Grayson are our favorite 2 foot tall folk.  They bring such joy to our lives.

birthday-pictures-016
They were so not into their smash cake

It’s amazing to me that just a short year ago, we had two tiny newborns.

096

Stella

12-month-pictures-098

Weight: 19 lbs. 8.5 oz.       Length: 2′ 6.12″

personality-035

Likes: Playing peek a boo.  I’m pretty sure I had this on the last update as well, but she loves playing peek a boo so much I HAD to add it to this one too.  She giggles like crazy when we pop up from behind anything and make a silly face.  Being held.  Stella is going through an exceptionally clingy phase right now and would love if I could hold her all day, everyday.  She loves being up where she can see everything.  I enjoy the extra snuggles.  Handing things to me.  I am trying to teach the babies (toddlers?) how to share, so they think it’s a fun a game to hand me toys they’re playing with.  Stella means it when she offers things to me, Grayson on the other hand tends to offer, but when I take it he get’s sad. We’re still working on that.  Yelling while the bathtub is filling up.  Every night after dinner, we head straight into bath time.  When I turn on the water, both Stella and Grayson yell, and I join in with them because I think it’s hilarious.  It’s like they want to be louder than the water.  Bath time is a pretty exciting time in the Frazier residence.  Waving goodbye.  When Nick, or really anyone leaves our place, the babies stand at the gate and wave.  It’s pretty much the cutest thing ever.  Climbing on everything.  For their birthday, their Uncle Ben and Auntie Erika got them a learning table.  When we got it put together I said, “Stella will be on top of that thing in 5 minutes.”  Not 2 minutes later I turn and she’s on the table.  She may not be walking yet, but man that girl can climb!  Playing phone.  The days of answering phones and handing them to the babies have begun.  It’s so cute to watch them put the phone up to their ear.

birthday-pictures-169

Dislikes: Being put down.  Like I mentioned before, Stella loves to be held, and when I put her down she definitely objects big time.  I’ve learned to distract her with something new to play with like a spoon or pot lid while I lower her down and set her on the ground.  Crafting.  Stella was not a very willing participant in all the Christmas crafts we made together.  We made so many though, that by the end she decided to just give in and let it happen. Wearing socks and shoes.  Anytime I have socks and shoes on Stella, she makes it her mission to take them off.  I wouldn’t mind if it were the summer, but her piggies are going to get cold!

img_1536

Grayson

12-month-pictures-077

Weight: 18 lbs 6.5 oz.      Length: 2′ 5.72″

personality-010

Likes: Pointing at people.  Nick taught Grayson how to “E.T.” and now instead of waving, he points.  It’s pretty funny until I’m walking through a store and he’s pointing at every person we pass.  Luckily, he usually has a big grin on his face while he does this so people don’t seem too offended that a kid is pointing at them.  Playing chase.  I spent probably 30 minutes the other night running around chasing the babies and having them chase me.  We were all laughing pretty hard.  The Grinch.  I try to keep screen time to a minimum, but for Christmas movies, I’ve relaxed quite a bit.  One day I put on The Grinch (not the cartoon one) and the babies were SO into it.  I don’t know what it is about the movie, but they love watching it, which is great because I love that movie too.  On their birthday, they woke up super early (like 4:30 am, early) and we snuggled and watched The Grinch.  Using everything as a drum.  Grayson loves to use everything in our place like it’s a drum.  He usually uses his hand to pound on things, but recently he has been using spoons and his play hammer.  Not a problem until he uses Stella as his drum.  Patting his tummy.  Nick and I get quite  kick out of how Grayson pats his tummy.  He seems to actually keep a beat with it too, and his hands move at different beats.  It is one of the cutest things ever to watch him walk around drumming on his belly.  Getting hugs.  Nick told me Grayson put his phone in the correct spot on his learning table the other morning.  Nick was cheering for him and Grayson ran over to get a big hug from daddy.  He does this basically anytime we cheer for him.  It’s so cute because he’ll trot over with a silly, excited grin.  Stepping on paper.  The babies and I made an insane amount of Christmas cards this year, which involved me stamping their feet onto paper.  Now, any time there is a sheet of paper on the ground Grayson walks over a steps his foot on it.  It took me a little while to figure out what he was doing, but when I put it together I had a good chuckle.  I then showed Nick and had another good laugh with him about it.

birthday-pictures-152

Dislikes: Sitting still.  Now that Grayson can walk, he refuses to sit still.  It’s turned into quite a task to dress him.  Not being involved.  Grayson wants to help with everything, and gets pretty upset when he can’t be involved.  He doesn’t understand that pulling things out of the oven, or helping Dad with the hammer or drill is just not safe yet.  Some day buddy, I promise.

img_1521

Eating:  I plan to continue nursing both the babies until they want to wean, and that it still going well.  I am thinking I will write about our journey breastfeeding, but who knows when I will get that posted. Stay tuned  though.

thanksgiving-008

Besides nursing, the babies are pretty good eaters.  Stella tends to like veggies more and Grayson likes whatever protein I give him.  We had meatloaf, broccoli and mashed potatoes the other night and Grayson was stealing Stella’s meatloaf and Stella was stealing Grayson’s broccoli.  They both love pumpkin, and have started to turn a little orange. Overall, I am really impressed with how much they can eat and how they’r pretty willing to try anything.  I know this will more than likely not always be the case, so I’m enjoying it while it lasts.

phone-pictures-decemner-119
Double baby hold: Mastered

Sleeping:  As always, I thought we were making some progress and then sleep became a struggle again.  I have them taking 2 (mostly) solid naps a day, but night sleep still tends to be pretty wakeful.  I cosleep with the babies most the night and it tends to be the best sleep all of us can get.  I am excited for the day when I can sleep in bed with Nick all night again, but try not to stress too much about the sleeping arrangements.  We do what we have to to survive.

phone-pictures-decemner-061
Napping on Auntie Sonj

I can’t believe a whole year has gone by.  Thank you to everyone, near and far, who helped us make it through this last year.  We couldn’t have done it without you.

To Nick, thank you for putting up with me this last year. Thank you for making my dream of being a stay at home mom and wife come true.  You are such a phenomenal dad and husband. I love you.

img_1532

To Stella and Grayson, thank you for making dad and me so happy.  You two are the greatest.  We may not be perfect, but know that we are doing our best.  Everything dad and I do is with the intention to make a great life for you two, full of unconditional love and happiness.  We love you more than words can describe.

img_1481

Leave a Reply

