Stella and Grayson: 2 Month Update

Last Saturday, February 6th, the babies officially turned 2 months old.  It is crazy to me how fast time has gone.  I can honestly say these past few months have been the most exhausting, overwhelming, and the absolute best 2 months of my life.  Being a mommy is perfect.  I could gush all day about how much I love these two little creatures, but let’s get started on their 2 month update (I failed at getting a 1 month update done, but twins after all, haha).

Stella

Length: 22.25″ Weight: 10 lbs 1 oz

233

Likes: Her Daddy.  The way she looks at Nick completely melts my heart.  She adores him.  Baths (usually).  Stella generally likes bath time.  She loves to kick around in the warm water. Her favorite part of bath time though is having her hair blow dried at the end.  She is hilarious when I dry her hair.  So calm, eyes squinting, and the most chill look on her face.  Such a girl.  The kissy noise.  I spend way too much time doing the kissy noise to get those gummy smiles out of her.  The Moby Wrap.  Stella really enjoys being wrapped to me or Nick in the moby wrap.  She takes the time to take a nice, cozy nap. The swing.  The swing has been an absolute life saver!  If I need to feed Grayson, and Stella needs to go to sleep, I put her in the swing, turn on the mobile and music, and she is out!

176
Excuse my creepy face, I was trying a sneaky selfie in the store to send to Nick

171

Dislikes: Tummy time.  As far as Stella is concerned, tummy time should last about three minutes maybe up to five on a good day, then she would like to be done, and she’ll tell me as much by scream crying.  Other times, she totally misses the target and takes that time to catch up on some sleep.

Grayson

Length: 22.25″ Weight: 11 lbs 6 oz

206

Likes: His Mommy.  There are times when Nick has to hand him off to me because there is nothing that will make him happy.  I do love that he loves me so much.  Don’t get me wrong, he still loves his Daddy, but he and I have a special bond (and it’s not just because I have the boobs).  Laying on his activity mat (on his back).  Sometimes when I can’t even console him I lay him on his activity mat and he’s a happy camper.  He kicks around and smiles at the toys spinning.  Singing songs with Mommy.  The main way I get smiles out of Grayson is singing songs to him in ridiculous voices and with goofy faces.  The things I do to see smiles.  The Moby Wrap.  Grayson also loves to be wrapped in the moby wrap.  It comes in handy when I need to eat or get something done around the apartment when he wants to be held.

202

212

Dislikes: Tummy time. Unlike Stella, Grayson will do tummy time for maybe 30 seconds, then it’s scream cry central.  I’m working with him on it though.  Bath time.  The second I touch his bottom to the water, cue scream cry!  As he’s started to have more baths, thanks to his explosions, he’s getting a bit better at handling baths.

Sleep: People, let me tell you, these kids are sleep terrorists.  They have already started to conspire against us.  Some nights, between the two of them, I am up nursing every hour.  We are very hit or miss with sleep, but on good nights I can get about 2.5-3 hours at once then I’m up every hour.  Since Nick goes to work early and works so long, I give him as much protected sleep as I can.  Theoretically I can nap during the day with the babies, but most the time, once I’m up, I’m up.  I used to be a professional napper, but now, once they are asleep, I have so many things I want to accomplish before one wakes.  People say to get them on the same schedule, but since I feed them on demand (and we haven’t quite gotten the hang of tandem nursing) it’s almost easier if they aren’t on the same schedule.  With that being said, I’m sure once they get a little older, we will fall into a better sleep/awake routine.  I never thought I would be so good at functioning on 4 or 5 hours of broken sleep.

190

Eating: It’s so funny how different the babies are when it comes to eating.  Grayson is my snacker and Stella prefers larger meals.  I went to a breastfeeding support group where they do weighed feedings.  Stella took on almost 4 oz and Grayson took on a little over an ounce.  Goes to show that every baby is so different.  They are both gaining well so there is no concern.  For a long time we were doing a combination of bottles of pumped milk and nursing, but I knew that when I didn’t have help at home that wasn’t going to work, so we got them exclusively nursing at about a month old.  Let me tell you, it is so nice to not be attached to the pump 24/7 or clean bottles.  Now they only get bottles when Nick wants to feed them or if Momma wants some wine.

185

123

It is so fun watching these little humans grow.  Seeing their smiles and hearing their coos has been the highlight of month 2 for me.  I am looking forward to see what fun adventures month 3 holds!

And just because he has the cutest sad face in the world:

255

Leave a Reply

