35 weeks

I made it!  This was the week I was most anxious to get past.  Week 35 is the week (for twins specifically) that their NICU stays drop substantially.  At this point (36 weeks), the babies will most likely be able to stay with us in our room after birth.  Huge sigh of relief over here!

I mentioned last week that I was having a serious love of chocolate.  This week was a tad different on the cravings front.  Thank goodness for a healthy craving week.  I ate an entire bag of little cutie oranges.  Nick would stare at me in disbelief as I would eat 5-6 of them at a time.  They’re just so tasty.  Coming in second for my favorite food of the week, BEETS.  Call me crazy, but I want all the beets!  I shred them with a cheese grater, put a little olive oil over the top, and squeeze some lemon on them.  Perfection.  Also, peanut butter toast.  After I got my tonsils out when I was 21, I was not a huge fan of dry foods like toast, but that has all changed now.  Peanut butter toast for every snack!

It’s funny how as I’ve progressed through pregnancy simple tasks have now become what I like to call, “Go Me Moments.”  Some of these “Go Me Moments” from this week:

  • Shaved my legs.  They should seriously make this an olympic event.
  • Wore lace up shoes and actually tied the laces.
  • Wore real clothes. You go, girl!
  • Bent down to put a dish away and didn’t end up sitting on the ground for a few minutes.
  • Parked in the back of the grocery store parking lot.  I remember as a kid I used to hate that my mom would do this, but as an adult I have become her, and I am not letting pregnancy change that.  I feel a new sense of pride walking all the way in with this huge belly of mine.

At my 35 week appointment, both the babies were still looking great.  When my doctor measured my belly, I am measuring 42 weeks.  My skin is about to tear apart.  We have officially scheduled their eviction.  December 14th.  Nick is convinced they are coming sometime this week.  He did know I was pregnant before I did, so I’m not doubting him on this one, but I have thought I would go into labor during week 37 this whole time.  Only God and the babies know when go time will be.  Feel free to cast votes of when you think these little ones are coming!

At every appointment, they have me pee in a cup to make sure there is nothing going on.  They give me a cup the size of a shot glass to pee into.  Do they not realize that they should be giving pregnant women bowls to pee into?  We can’t see anything in that area anymore!  All things considered, I have gotten very skilled at not peeing all over my hand during said process.

As I’m nearing the finish line (or starting line), I’m not nervous about the birth, but I am realizing that these babies have to exit my body one way or another.  Something about that process has really sunk in this week.  I would say I’m ready, but I don’t think it matters whether or not I’m ready.  Ready or not, they’re going to come!

The babies are running out of space and, due to that, their movements have definitely changed.  In the beginning, we would get big jabs and kicks, now their movements are slower and look even more alien like than before.  It’s funny because if I hold a hot cup of tea, or push on the top part of my belly, our little man in there pushes back.  At one point this week, I got in the shower and let the hot water hit my belly, and the little guy pushed out so hard.  I could imagine him stretching and enjoying the warm water.  Little miss in there moves a ton if I lay on my right side.  She’s on the left side of my belly and pretty smushed by her brother, so I think when I lay on my right side it frees up a little room for her to swim around.  I already know I am going to miss the feeling of them moving inside me, so I’m soaking it all in now.

During week 35, we finished everything we wanted to accomplish before the babies arrive.  Monday, we got the carpets cleaned, which wasn’t entirely necessary, but the apartment complex offers a free cleaning if you’re here more than a year, so we took advantage of that.  I finally preregistered at our hospital.  Apparently I was supposed to do that by 32 weeks.  Better late than never.  Nick installed the car seat bases in the car.  We don’t plan on putting the car seats in until we head to the hospital.  And most importantly we decorated our mantel for Christmas.  Okay, so that’s probably the least important thing, but still mattered to us.  Because we don’t want to have to deal with the hassle of taking down and disposing of a Christmas tree while taking care of two newborns, we opted for no tree this year and just decorated the mantel.

030
The paintings are from a date Nick and I went on a few weeks back

Unfortunately, I was not able to escape the pregnancy swelling.  While I don’t have much swelling in my feet and ankles like some pregnant women (yet, at least), my fingers have been a bit swollen.  This means a lot of the time this last week, I was not able to wear my wedding ring.  I hate not wearing it because I love it so much!  When we leave the house I try to wear it, but if it is too uncomfortable, I wear a ring my Meme (Grandma) gave me on my 16th birthday.  It’s a beautiful ring so it makes not wearing my other ring a little easier.

And last but not least, a belly picture from last week.

027
35 weeks 5 days

 

3 thoughts on “35 weeks

  1. You look great! I remember craving beets during my pregnancy too, so funny! Also, my mom would always park at the back of the grocery store parking lot too and it drove me crazy, but I do the same thing now! Well, when I’m not with the baby. When she’s with me, we park as close as possible because the whole transition from the car to the cart still makes me nervous :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

