Weeks 28-31

Goodbye 2nd trimester, hello 3rd!  The home stretch.

I can’t believe how fast time has flown by in the past 28 weeks.  With twins, my doctor won’t let us go past 38 weeks which means we are in the single digits until meeting our two little ones.  We are mostly ready for the babies, but still have some last minute preparations.

I was reading that I need to have a hospital bag ready by 28 weeks with twins because they tend to come on their own schedule.  The weekend of week 28 Nick and I set out to get our hospital bag ready.  We bought some toiletries and a few random other things but couldn’t think of much else to pack.  I have a feeling that when it’s “go time” I will end up grabbing a bunch of random things that I more than likely won’t use.  In the back of my head though, I remember that there is a chance I will go to 38 weeks and our “dash” to the hospital will not be as dramatic as I think.  I get the feeling these babies enjoy being inside my cozy womb and will need a bit of encouragement to come on out.

At 28 weeks, I had the glucose screening that I had heard horror stories about.  The one time a stuffy nose came in handy.  I couldn’t taste the glucose drink at all, it just sort of burnt my throat going down.  I was so worried I was going to have gestational diabetes because it is caused by something that the placenta produces and I have two placentas.  I was convinced I was going to fail.  Thankfully I passed!  Thank goodness I don’t have to prick my finger 4 times a day and limit my sugar.

As of 30 weeks, I stopped working because I kept getting really sick.  Poor Nick had to deal with me having a terrible cold for 6 weeks.  Yes, 6 whole weeks.  It was getting to be too much.  I eventually had a scare where they were worried I had pneumonia, and that was when we realized it was no longer a good idea for me to be around sick kids all day.  When I went to urgent care, the doctor I saw told me that women in their 3rd trimester of pregnancy have the immune system of someone who has AIDS.  Wow.  That would explain the whole being sick for weeks upon weeks thing.

As for the cravings, things have definitely changed.  I have a serious sweet tooth.  I keep joking with Nick that one of these babies is taking after him because he has the biggest sweet tooth ever.  One night, we made a trip to the store specifically for candy, peach-o’s and gummy sharks to be exact.  There was also a morning that two maple donuts went missing, I will neither confirm nor deny I had anything to do with their disappearance.  Luckily, I am also craving veggie filled salads so I like to think it all evens out in the end.

I only have a few aversions at this point.  The idea of Nick cooking pot stickers still makes me want to gag, so that random aversion still holds strong.  Unfortunately, a craving from the second trimester has made it’s way onto this list.  Chicken Pad Thai.  It saddens me, but after throwing something up on two different occasions, I just can’t stomach it anymore.  I caught a stomach bug from the kids at work and it did me in.  Until we meet again Chicken Pad Thai.

If the old wives tale about heartburn is true, I’m giving birth to two chewbacca babies.  Heartburn is real.  I had to up the ante because Tums was like trying to fight a house fire with a garden hose.  Pepcid, thank you for all that you do for me, you complete me.

The babies have both started to get the hiccups.  It is the funniest feeling ever.  Baby boy tends to get them way more frequently.  He’s also the one that moves the most, probably because he has more space than she does.  I feel them move pretty much all the time, which I love.  As they are getting stronger, it sometimes looks like I have aliens trying to bust out of me.

I am now to the point that I get ultrasounds every single week to check on the babies.  I know it seems excessive, but they have to make sure they’re growing well and that they have enough amniotic fluid.  The ultrasound tech and I are becoming the best of friends.  She’s seriously great.  It’s pretty cool because she has been my tech every single ultrasound since the beginning.  Here are some cool 3D pictures she got at 31 weeks:

004
Baby boy on top and baby girl on bottom

As I continue to grow, certain tasks are becoming far more difficult.  I find myself trying to wear slip on shoes as much as possible.  Getting out of bed is far trickier than before, sometimes Nick has to give me a push.  Sleeping is becoming pretty tricky.  I have some nights that are great and others that are pretty restless, but I figure it’s just preparing me for the lack of sleep that is to come.  It is so fun seeing how quickly my belly is growing and to watch it get bigger every week (I’m sure near the last few weeks I won’t find as much joy in getting bigger).  Even some of my maternity shirts are becoming belly shirts, and I know this is just going to continue to get worse.

Here are some bump pictures from the last few weeks:

10/14
28 weeks 2 days
10/28
30 weeks 2 days
2 thoughts on “Weeks 28-31

  1. #1 thing I wish I had packed in my hospital bag was lanolin cream for breastfeeding. My ghetto hospital here in Puerto Rico didn’t provide anything for cracked bleeding nipples, but I’m guessing yours will probably. Just the same, that stuff is great and even works for healing diaper rashes. Also, my meddle breast pump is probably my best baby purchase. It saved me when I couldn’t nurse for a couple days while my nipples were healing. 🙂 After having pushing a baby (you two babies!) out of that impossibly small hole, breast feeding is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but it got better after a couple weeks.

    Like

    1. Oh good call with nipple cream!! I will have to make sure to get some and pack it! I have a Medela pump coming in from insurance, thank goodness they provide them! Did you get a particular breast feeding pillow? I think I’m going to get “My Breastfriend”

      Like

Leave a Reply

