Finding Out About Baby

It seems like just yesterday Nick was insisting we get a pregnancy test because he thought I had been acting a little different.  I assured him that I was totally fine and that there was no way (let’s get real, there was a way) that I could be pregnant.  It was the day I was scheduled to start my period, but that thing was never all that predictable.  We were heading to the store to get dinner so we decided to pick up a test because what’s the harm in peeing on a stick after all.

When we got home from the store, Nick sent me directly to the bathroom.  I told him we had to wait until the morning.  I had remembered hearing that early in the pregnancy you should wait until morning because there are more hormones in your pee and you will get better results, or something like that.  He wanted to know NOW though (so did I) and there were two tests in the box so I could soil the other in the morning.

I did the deed and as soon as my pee reached the window, there were two pink lines, one very dark and the other very faint, but OBVIOUSLY there, and it hadn’t even marinated for 3 minutes.  I called to Nick and he came bursting in the door.  I still wasn’t totally convinced because “the line is so faint” but deep down I knew.  I hadn’t been feeling like myself, the girls had been more sore than ever, and there was that one night I had eaten a half a jar of pepperoncinis and drank the juice.  I’m almost certain the first words out of Nick’s mouth were, “my swimmers work!” or something to that effect.

To say I was in shock was the understatement of the year.  Finding out your life is about to change in the biggest way possible has got to be the scariest, yet most exciting moment ever.  This was a day I had looked forward to since I was a little girl.  I had always wanted to be a wife and a mother, and that time had finally come.

After all the excitement, we sat down to eat dinner.  Whether it was all the hormones being produced by the little nugget inside me or if I was just still in shock, I found myself not the least bit hungry.  I still ate because for the first time in my life, my body was no longer just mine.  I needed to feed the little one.

Leave a Reply

